Still Spinning – more drop spindles

I love spinning with my drop spindle!  I have the ones I made when I first started, one specially made for me by my brother the wood-turner, and a new one I purchased at spinning camp.

The new purchase is a cherry/red cedar beauty by Steve Kundert weighing in at a whopping 1.2 oz.  Here it is with some wool/alpaca I blended on a friend’s drum carder.  forest green Corriedale, white CVM (the tweedy bits), fawn alpaca and a bit of teal colored wool.

The spindle is a little heavier than I am accustomed to using, but it really flies and I do love the resulting yarn.   This yarn was finished the same day of the picture and I moved on to spinning the remainder of the blue merino  shown in a previous post.  That yarn will be a 2-ply and will look lovely with the shades of blue blending into each other.

The Kundert has a new cousin, a gift from a fellow spinner/knitter.  A genuine Bolivian spindle that is used while sitting on the ground.  Uh…I don’t sit on the ground but since I am not tall I can use it while sitting in a chair, like a shorter Navajo spindle.  When I received the spindle I pulled out some of the blue merino and immediately started spinning.  A bit of a different experience and lots of fun.

Leave a Reply

