Spinning in Florida

Last week I attended a spinning retreat/camp/gathering in Florida and had the most marvelous time learning new techniques and meeting so many other spinners.  I spin on a spindle and most of the people there were wheel spinners but we are all making fiber twisty to get yarn.  A lot of the techniques are the same and a spindle is “better” in one sense because it is portable.  And lighter!

The vendors had tables and displays full of soft, colorful wools and yarns that begged to be taken home.  You could clearly see the different displays empty as the days went by.  I bit.  I had Christmas money burning a hole in my pocket and just had to buy a few things.

Brother and his family were very generous to me at Christmas and gifted me with about 2.5 lbs of different wools for spinning.  All of it soft, well processed and in deep, rich colors.  I wanted to experiment with the dark navy solid and purchased some dyed merino in a blend of blues.  After spinning each one separately I combined the two together into a two ply yarn with a “Barber pole”  look.  The yarn is 102 yards of soft and squishy.

I have Stuff To Do so better get this out so you all can see something new.  More later!

Leave a Reply

