Pecan Pie from Winter Park Memorial Hospital (Florida)

I looked all over the internet for a copy of this pecan pie to make for Thanksgiving, but Google failed me.

A bit of a story first:  about 30 years ago my mother was a patient of Winter Park Hospital for a lengthy stay in ICU and CCU.  During that time they served a pecan pie for dessert that was simply the best she had ever eaten – it had even beat Ann Lander’s version!

Later she found and clipped the recipe out of the Orlando Sentinel newspaper and I came across that recipe only a few years ago.  I have retyped it and sent it to various family members.  Of course I didn’t have it when I was making desserts for Thanksgiving, so decided to put it in a blog entry so I could actually find it in the future!

As mentioned above, this was copied from the Orlando Sentinel newspaper and other than that I don’t have a publication date or any other specific information.  I do know it is about the best pecan pie EVER.  Enjoy!

Winter Park Memorial Hospital Pecan Pie
Makes 3 pies

4 c pecans, chopped
6 c brown sugar
3 C granulated sugar
6 Tbs flour
12 eggs
¾ c milk
2 tsp vanilla
3 tbs butter

Mix brown sugar, granulated sugar, and flour.  Beat in thoroughtly eggs, milk, vanilla, and melted butter.  Fold in pecans
Pour into unbaked pie shells.  Bake at 250 degrees 40 to 50 minutes

Leave a Reply

