Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

A new stamp with the post office commemorates Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings.

I bought some for the post card shipping and have been enjoying using them. Reminds me of long ago…

I don’t know if it is part of the curriculum of Florida, but in the 8th grade we read “The Yearling” and it was followed up with a field trip to Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings home at Cross Creek near Gainesville, Fla. I found the pictures I took with my trusty Instamatic camera, ran them through the scanner with color correction and show you a few below.

It is amazing; the peace, comfort, and nourishment she received from her home in rural Florida. She wasn’t dependent upon working the land for her living as her neighbors were and was able to enjoy the world around her instead of a daily toil to earn her way.

My mother drove our big yellow station wagon and had a car-load of classmates. We stopped at a local restaurant to eat – Ms. Rawlings was supposed to have eaten there, but it was closed.

I am so glad her home is preserved as a Florida State Park. Check out the website, and you can even download the brochure. The interpretive rangers are dressed in 1930’s style clothing! She liked to entertain guests on her front porch – the better to catch any available breathe of a breeze.

A few of my classmates. Some of you may recognize the clothing style of the late 60’s. Guess what – I can name the young women! Not too bad after 40 years. We had a small high school and I was in the same class with some of them from 1st to 12th grades, a few I knew from kindergarden – and have the pictures to prove it (for another day)!

Dustbunny

Leave a Reply

